Mastering

Mastering is the last stage in the recording process. Essentially, it is the final processing of a finished stereo mix. It is the last procedure before the music is pressed or digitally published. In addition to technically preparing the project for pressing (DDP file), it is also possible to affect the material in regards to sound.

My mastering philosophy:

Mastering is more than just getting the maximum volume out of a mix or stringing songs together. With fresh, unbiased ears I give you feedback on your mixes and then get to work. Many years of experience, optimal room acoustics, high-quality converters and precise studio monitors help me to fine-tune your music.

“Hi Moritz! The master sounds excellent. The guitars are lovely and sparkly and the extra bass helps round things out. I really appreciate you keeping it dynamic as many mastering engineers would squish it even when asked not to.”(Daniel Taylor, UK)

Audio Mastering Tonstudio
Audio Mastering Tonstudio

My service for you:

  • Free feedback on your mixes
  • Assurance that the finished master is technically OK
  • The volume of your production meets the most common standards of Youtube, Spotify, iTunes etc
  • Thanks to online processing, your Master will be ready within 2-3 days

“Very helpful, professional and nice contact, whose result has knocked me flat. I will continue to use him as a point of contact in the future. Strongly recommended.”(René Held, Germany)

Prices for Mastering:

Stereo mastering: 39 €.
Stem mastering: 39 € + 5 € for each additional stereo track.
EP (up to 5 songs) 149 €
Album (up to 10 songs) €299

All prices are exclusive of 19% VAT. Discounts for multiple songs are available on request. This is especially true if I am also contracted to mix your songs.

Mastering procedure:

The price includes feedback on your mixes. Just send me your mixes in advance and I’ll give you suggestions on how to optimize them. Only when both sides agree that this is the best possible mix, do I start work. This preparatory work is very important to me. In my opinion, mastering should be focused on refining a track and not with fixing mix errors. Also included in the price are up to two revisions.
References:

FAQ about mastering:

To get the best possible result from your mixes during mastering, here are some tips to help you prepare your mixes in the best possible way.

  • How loud should a mix be?

Leave Headroom! Your mix doesn’t have to be unnecessarily loud, that can be done better during mastering.
For this reason, don’t use plug-ins such as limiters or compressors on the master bus. The more dynamic a mix is, the more possibilities there are during mastering. A good indication of a correct volume is an average level (RMS) of -18 dB. Peaks should not be louder than approx. -3dB.

  • What format should my mixes be?

Bit depth: 32 bit or 24 bit
Sample rate: Just like you recorded. Mostly 44,1 Khz or 48 Khz.
If you supply 24 bit files, please use dithering when exporting.
If you are unsure about some points, please do not hesitate to send me a message.

  • Do I need an ISRC code?

ISRC codes are required for track-accurate billing on the radio or on iTunes.
Within the framework of mastering I can provide you with ISRC codes free of charge.

  • Do I get a label code from you, too?

Yes

  • How does it work with CD Text?

CD text with information about track names and artists can only be displayed by a few CD players. This, however, has nothing to do with the fact that the names of your tracks appear on iTunes as soon as you insert a CD. This is done via a service called CDDB and must be typed in by hand and submitted online.

  • What is Stem Mastering?

With stem mastering, you give me a number of subgroups instead of a stereo mix. For example, vocals, drums, guitars and keys. With these 4 sub-groups I can work in more detail and achieve a better sound than with stereo mastering. Stem mastering is always recommended if you don’t have good room acoustics at home or if you are generally dissatisfied with your mix.

  • What is a DDP file?

DDP stands for Disc Description Protocol and is essentially a file format that serves as a template for the duplication of CD`s. This DDP file is then used instead of a physical CD as a master for the duplication at the pressing plant. To listen to a DDP you need special software, which I will make available to you free of charge during a mastering session.

  • Do you do vinyl mastering?

Yes, very gladly

 

If something is unclear, don’t hesitate to send me a message.

Moritz Maier / Mixing in Cologne / 0221-71500590

Mastering

Mastering ist der der letzte Bearbeitungsschritt im Tonstudio und bezeichnet die finale Bearbeitung eines fertigen Stereo-Mixes. Es ist die letzte Instanz, bevor die Musik zur Pressung oder zur digitalen Veröffentlichung gelangt. Neben der technischen Aufbereitung für das Presswerk (DDP-File) kann hier auch nochmal klanglich in das Material eingegriffen werden.

Meine Mastering Philosophie:

Mastering ist für mich mehr als nur die maximale Lautstärke aus einem Mix heraus zu holen oder Songs aneinander zu reihen. Mit frischen, unvoreingenommenen Ohren gebe ich dir Feedback zu deinen Mixen und mache mich dann an die Arbeit. Viele Jahre Erfahrungen, eine optimale Raumakustik, hochwertige Wandler und präzise Studio-Monitore helfen mir dabei, deiner Musik den Feinschliff zu verpassen.

„Hi Moritz! The master sounds excellent. The guitars are lovely and sparkly and the extra bass helps round things out. I really appreciate you keeping it dynamic as many mastering engineers would squish it even when asked not to.“ (Daniel Taylor, UK)

Audio Mastering Tonstudio
Audio Mastering Tonstudio

Mein Service für Dich:

  • Kostenloses Feedback zu deinen Mixen
  • Sicherheit, dass das fertige Master technisch OK ist
  • Die Lautstärke deiner Produktion entspricht den gängigen Standards von Youtube, Spotify, iTunes und Co.
  • Dank Online-Abwicklung ist dein Master bereits nach 2-3 Tagen fertig

“ Sehr hilfreicher, professioneller und zudem netter Kontakt, dessen Ergebnis mich umgehauen hat. Wird von mir nicht nur in Zukunft weiter als Anlaufstelle verwendet, sondern auch gnadenlos weiter empfohlen.“ (René Held, Deutschland)

Preise für Mastering:

Stereo-Mastering: 39 €
Stem-Mastering: 39 € + 5 € für jede weitere Stereo-Spur.
EP (bis 5 Songs) 149 €
Album (bis 10 Songs) 299 €

Alle Preise verstehen sich zuzüglich 19 % Mehrwertsteuer. Rabatte für mehrere Songs sind auf Anfrage möglich. Dies gilt vor allem dann, wenn du deine Songs auch bei mir Mixen lässt.

Ablauf  beim Mastering:

Im Preis inbegriffen ist ein Feedback zu deinen Mixen. Dazu sendest Du mir deine Mixe vorab zu und ich mache dir Vorschläge, wie Du diese optimieren kannst. Erst wenn beide Seiten der Meinung sind, dass es sich um den bestmöglichen Mix handelt, beginne ich mit der Arbeit. Diese Vorarbeit ist mir sehr wichtig. Meiner Meinung nach sollte das Mastering sich mit dem Veredeln eines Tracks beschäftigen und nicht mit der Reparatur von Mixfehlern. Ebenfalls inbegriffen im Preis sind bis zu zwei Revisionen.

Referenzen:

Häufige Fragen zum Mastering:

Um beim Mastering das maximal beste Ergebnis aus deinen Mixen herausholen zu können, findest Du nachfolgend ein paar Tipps um deinen Mix optimal vorzubereiten.

  • Wie laut sollte ein Mix sein?

Lass Headroom! Dein Mix muss nicht unnötig laut sein, dafür gibt es ja das Mastering.
Benutze daher möglichst keine Plug-Ins wie Limiter oder Kompressoren auf dem Masterbus. Je dynamischer ein Mix ist, desto mehr Möglichkeiten bleiben beim Mastering. Ein guter Anhaltspunkt für die richtige Lautstärke ist ein Durchschnittspegel (RMS) von -18 dB. Spitzenpegel (Peaks) sollten nicht lauter als ca. -3dB sein.

  • In welchem Format soll ich meine Mixe abliefern?

Bittiefe: 32 Bit oder 24 Bit
Samplerate: Genauso, wie Du auch aufgenommen haben. Meist 44,1 Khz oder 48 Khz.
Wen du 24 Bit Files lieferst, so verwende bitte Dithering beim Exportieren.
Solltest Du bei einigen Punkten unsicher sein, so zögere nicht, mir eine Nachricht zu schicken.

  • Brauche ich einen ISRC Code?

ISRC Codes werden zur trackgenauen Abrechnung im Radio oder bei iTunes benötigt.
Im Rahmen eines Masterings kann ich dir ISRC-Codes kostenlos zur Verfügung stellen.

  • Bekommen ich von dir auch einen Label Code?

Ja

  • Wie funktioniert das mit CD Text?

CD Text mit Infos zu Tracknamen und Künstler können von einigen wenigen CD-Playern angezeigt werden. Es hat allerdings nichts damit zu tun, dass die Namen deiner Tracks bei iTunes erscheinen sobald man eine CD einlegt. Dies geschieht über einen Service namens CDDB und muss einmal von Hand ausgeführt werden.

  • Was ist Stem-Mastering?

Beim Stem-Mastering lieferst Du mir statt eines Stereo-Mix eine Anzahlt von Subgruppen an. Also beispielsweise Vocals, Drums, Gitarren und Keys. Mit diesen 4 Sub-Gruppen kann ich detaillierter arbeiten und klanglich mehr herausholen als beim Stereo-Mastering. Stem-Mastering bietet sich immer dann an, wenn Du zuhause keinen guten akustischen Raum hast oder generell mit deinem Mix unzufrieden bist.

  • Was ist ein DDP File?

DDP steht für Disc Description Protocol und steht für ein File-Format das als Vorlage für die Vervielfältigung von CD´s dient. Diese DDP File dient dann statt einer physikalischen CD als Master für die Vervielfältigung im Presswerk. Für das Anhören eines DDP´s brauchst Du einen speziellen Software-Player, den ich dir aber im Rahmen eines Masterings bei mir kostenlos zur Verfügung stelle.

  • Machst du auch Vinyl-Mastering?

Ja, sehr gerne sogar. Wenn deine Songs auf Vinyl erscheinen sollen, so achte bitte bereits beim Mixen darauf, dass der Bassbereich strikt Mono ist und es keine überlauten S-Laute bei der Stimme gibt.

Sollte etwas unklar sein, zögere nicht, mir eine Nachricht zu schicken.

Moritz Maier / Mastering in Köln / 0221-71500590